Faculty

Research Areas
Sakena Abedin's picture Sakena Abedin
Lecturer in the History of Science and Medicine
sakena.abedin@yale.edu
20th century U.S. medicine; medicine and the social sciences; race and medicine; history of the U.S. healthcare system; healthcare in New Haven
Paola Bertucci's picture Paola Bertucci
Associate Professor of History and History of Medicine; Curator of the History of Science and Technology Division, Peabody Museum; Director of Graduate Studies (Fall 2018)
paola.bertucci@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1397
Enlightenment; cultural history of technology in the early modern world, cultures of collecting and display; artisanal knowledge, the early modern body, scientific travel, material culture
Simone Browne's picture Simone Browne
Visiting Associate Professor
simone.browne@yale.edu
Deborah Coen's picture Deborah Coen
Professor
deborah.coen@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 436-8100
History of the modern physical and environmental sciences; Central European intellectual and cultural history
Ivano Dal Prete's picture Ivano Dal Prete
Lecturer in History
ivano.dalprete@yale.edu
Earth sciences (ca. 1300-1800); generation in the long eighteenth century; material culture of astronomy; science, religion and society in early modern Europe
Rachel Elder's picture Rachel Elder
Lecturer in the History of Science and Medicine
rachel.elder@yale.edu
20th century medicine, health, and the body; history of technology; disability history; neurology; U.S. gender and sexuality
Tess Lanzarotta's picture Tess Lanzarotta
Lecturer
tess.lanzarotta@yale.edu
Joanna Radin's picture Joanna Radin
Associate Professor of History of Medicine and History, and History and Anthropology
joanna.radin@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4258
Global histories of biology, ecology, medicine, and anthropology since 1945; history and anthropology of life and death; biomedical technology and computing; feminist, indigenous, and queer STS; science fiction
Chitra Ramalingam's picture Chitra Ramalingam
Associate Curator of Photography, Yale Center for British Art / Lecturer, HSHM and History
chitra.ramalingam@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1049 / 203 432 7842
History and theory of photography, cultural history of the physical sciences (18th-century to the present), science and visual culture, visual studies, material culture studies, modern British history.
Bill Rankin's picture Bill Rankin
Associate Professor of the History of Science
william.rankin@yale.edu
Physical and earth sciences since the mid-nineteenth century; military, industrial, and governmental science; history of cartography; science and architecture; visual studies; environmental history
Carolyn Roberts's picture Carolyn Roberts
Assistant Professor of African American Studies, History and History of Medicine; Senior Project Director, HSHM
carolyn.roberts@yale.edu
Medicine and slavery in the Atlantic world; race, medicine, and science; history of medicine in Africa and the African diaspora; health and protest in African American history; non-Western medicine and global health
Naomi Rogers's picture Naomi Rogers
Professor of the History of Medicine and History, Director of Graduate Studies (Spring 2019)
naomi.rogers@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4341
History of 20th century medicine & public health in North America including policy, activism, alternative medicine & gender and medicine; Science & feminism; Feminist health movements
Zoe Todd's picture Zoe Todd
Visiting Assistant Professor
zoe.todd@yale.edu
John Harley Warner's picture John Harley Warner
Avalon Professor of the History of Medicine; Professor of History and of American Studies; Chair of the Section of the History of Medicine (School of Medicine)
john.warner@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4338
19th & 20th century US medicine and health; Comparative history of medicine (US, Britain, France); Cultural history of science & medicine