A pathway is a combination of seven courses in HSHM and other departments that share a common theme. To form a pathway, there is a minimum of two HSHM courses, one science course, and one seminar in HSHM or History. The additional three courses can be drawn from any department. All seven courses must be coherent with the pathway. 

The major offers five standard pathways: Medicine and Public Health; Global Health; Science, Technology, and Society; Gender, Reproduction, and the Body; Media, Knowledge, and Visual Cultures. In addition, students can design their own pathway in consultation with the DUS. 

For the short list of current HSHM courses – including pathway assignments – please:

>> Click HERE to download the 2021–2022 HSHM pathway spreadsheet <<

Please see menu on the left to find examples of how students choose courses in each pathway.