Faculty

Faculty
Paola Bertucci Paola Bertucci
Assistant Professor of History of Science and Medicine
paola.bertucci@yale.edu

History of early modern sciences

Henry Cowles
Lecturer in the History of Medicine
henry.cowles@yale.edu

 

Human sciences and scientific medicine since 1800; mind and brain; historical and scientific methodology; pragmatism and evolutionary theory; experimentation in science, medicine, and the arts.

Bettyann Kevles
Senior Lecturer in History
bettyann.kevles@yale.edu

History of science and technology; intersection of art and science

Daniel Kevles
Stanley Woodward Professor of History and Professor of History of Medicine, of American Studies, and of Law (adjunct)
daniel,kevles@yale.edu

The U.S. since 1939, politics, government, culture, and society; science, technology, and national security; eugenics; genetics and society; scientific fraud; biotechnology; intellectual property; plant and animal breeding

Joanna Radin
Assistant Professor in the History of Medicine
joanna.radin@yale.edu

 

History of biology, medicine, and anthropology since 1945; scientific expeditions, biomedical ethics, human subjects research, collections, and laboratories; history of global health; biomedical technology.

William Rankin
Assistant Professor of History of Science
william.rankin@yale.edu

Physical and earth sciences since the mid-nineteenth century; military, industrial, and governmental science; history of cartography; science and architecture; visual studies; environmental history

Naomi Rogers
Associate Professor of History of Medicine and of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
naomi.rogers@yale.edu

History of 20th century medicine and public health in North America including health policy, health activism, alternative medicine, and gender and medicine; women's studies including science and feminism, and feminist health movements.

Frank Snowden
Andrew Downey Orrick Professor of History; Professor of History of Medicine; Chair, Program in the History of Science & Medicine
frank.snowden@yale.edu

Social, cultural, and intellectual history of medicine: the societal impact of infectious diseases; modern European social and political history.

William C. Summers
Professor of Therapeutic Radiology, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, and the History of Medicine (School of Medicine), Lecturer in History
william.summers@yale.edu

History of science and medicine; history of Chinese science and medicine

John Harley Warner
Avalon Professor of the History of Medicine; Professor of History and of American Studies; Chair, Section of the History of Medicine (School of Medicine)
john.warner@yale.edu

19th and 20th century U.S. medicine and health cultures; comparative history of medicine (U.S., Britain, France); cultural history of science and medicine