Graduate Students

Research Areas
Charlotte Abney Salomon
PhD Student
charlotte.abney@yale.edu
History of Chemistry; Scandinavian History; Early Modern Science
Chelsea Blink
PhD Student
chelsea.link@yale.edu
Animal studies, environmental history, history of medicine, labor and health, food systems, United States and Britain since industrialization
Jonny Bunning
PhD Student
jonny.bunning@yale.edu
History and sociology of biomedicine; history of modern Europe; political and social theory
J. Cecilia Cárdenas-Navia
PhD Candidate
jessica.cardenas-navia@yale.edu
Historical and sociocultural studies of the sciences, biomedicine, and technology; science fiction studies; kinship, blood, nationality, and family; boundary objects; scientific constructions of sexuality, sex, and gender; human difference; museology
Liana DeMarco
PhD Student
liana.demarco@yale.edu
History of medicine and public health in the Caribbean and the American South; history of colonial and postcolonial medicine; environmental history; history of U.S. imperialism; history of capitalism; history of earth sciences
Barbara Di Gennaro
PhD Student
barbara.digennaro@yale.edu
Early modern history of science and medicine; cross-cultural exchanges in the Mediterranean; early modern Italian social history; apothecaries, poisons, and antidotes
Jed Gross
PhD Candidate
jed.gross@yale.edu
Biomedical ethics; living things and the law; technology policy; risk cognition and shared decision making; comparative history of the professions
Katherrine Healey
PhD Student
katherrine.healey@yale.edu
history of public health and medicine in America; disability history; Deaf history; history of the senses; history of eugenics; 20th-century America
Rodion Kosovsky
PhD Student
rodion.kosovsky@yale.edu
History of medicine; history of the US; history of sexuality; history of violence; feminism; social justice; psychological trauma; victims and perpetrators
Tess Lanzarotta
PhD Student
tess.lanzarotta@yale.edu
History of american medicine and public health; Native American and indigenous studies; Arctic studies; history of global health; history of ecology and epidemiology; biomedical technology
Mary Ellen Leuver
PhD Candidate
maryellen.leuver@yale.edu
Climate, environment, and disease; the history of the American West
Megann Licskai
PhD Student
megann.licskai@yale.edu
History of medicine; STS; reproductive justice; gender and science; biopolitics; medical ethics; continental philosophy
Caroline Lieffers
PhD Student
caroline.lieffers@yale.edu
History of medicine and disability
Catherine Mas
PhD Student
catherine.mas@yale.edu
History of anthropology; religion and medicine; history of public health; feminist STS; American social and cultural history
Gourav Krishna Nandi
PhD Student
gouravkrishna.nandi@yale.edu
History of medicine & public health; history of modern India; public health policy; global health politics & diplomacy; philosophy of history
Haesoo Park
PhD Student
haesoo.park@yale.edu
History of Biomedicine and Biological Sciences, Transnational and Postcolonial History, East Asian History, STS, Medical Anthropology, Postcolonial Feminism, Public Humanities
Sarah Pickman
PhD Student
sarah.pickman@yale.edu
The history of exploration, field collecting, natural history museums and anthropology in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries
Barbara Pohl
PhD Student
barbara.pohl@yale.edu
history of American medicine and public health; history of bioethics in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; history of capitalism
Marco Ramos
MD/PhD Candidate
marco.ramos@yale.edu
history of the human sciences; postcolonial science and global health; medical humanitarianism and human rights; the Latin American Cold War
Maya Sandler
PhD Student
maya.sandler@yale.edu
History of American medicine and public health; health disparities; health activism
Samuel Schotland
MD/PhD Student
samuel.schotland@yale.edu
Ashanti Shih
PhD Student
ashanti.shih@yale.edu
Primary interests: history of ecology; environmental history; post/colonialism and occupation; Asian American history; Oceanic history; visual studies of science
Deborah Streahle
PhD Student
deborah.streahle@yale.edu
Simon Torracinta
PhD Student
simon.torracinta@yale.edu
History of medicine & the human sciences; history of modern Europe; history of ideas; political & social theory
Laurel Waycott
PhD Student
laurel.waycott@yale.edu
History of natural history and the life sciences; history of craft and technology; material and visual culture; American cultural history before 1945