Faculty

All

A | B | C | D | E | R | W
Research Areas
Sakena Abedin
Lecturer in the History of Science and Medicine
sakena.abedin@yale.edu
Paola Bertucci
Associate Professor of History and History of Medicine; Curator of the Historical Scientific Division, Peabody Museum; Director of Graduate Studies
paola.bertucci@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1397
Enlightenment; cultural history of technology in the early modern world, cultures of collecting and display; artisanal knowledge, the early modern body, scientific travel, material culture
Deborah Coen
Professor of History
deborah.coen@yale.edu
History of the modern physical and environmental sciences; Central European intellectual and cultural history
Ivano Dal Prete
Lecturer in History
ivano.dalprete@yale.edu
Earth sciences (ca. 1300-1800); generation in the long eighteenth century; material culture of astronomy; science, religion and society in early modern Europe
Rachel Elder
Lecturer in the History of Science and Medicine
rachel.elder@yale.edu
20th century medicine, health, and the body; history of technology; disability history; neurology; U.S. gender and sexuality
Joanna Radin
Assistant Professor of History of Medicine and History, and History and Anthropology
joanna.radin@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4258
Global histories of biology, ecology, medicine, and anthropology since 1945; history and anthropology of life and death; biomedical technology and computing; feminist, indigenous, and queer STS; science fiction
Jose Ragas
Lecturer in the History of Science and Medicine
jose.ragas@yale.edu
Global STS; Surveillance and biometrics; history of technology in Latin America and the global south; grassroots science and technology; digital history; early global warming and society
Chitra Ramalingam
Assistant Curator of Photography, Yale Center for British Art
chitra.ramalingam@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1049 / 203 432 7842
History and theory of photography, cultural history of the physical sciences (18th-century to the present), science and visual culture, visual studies, material culture studies, modern British history.
William Rankin
Assistant Professor of the History of Science; Director of Undergraduate Studies
william.rankin@yale.edu
Physical and earth sciences since the mid-nineteenth century; military, industrial, and governmental science; history of cartography; science and architecture; visual studies; environmental history
Carolyn Roberts
Postgraduate Associate in History and History of Medicine, and African American Studies (Assistant Professor beginning 2018)
carolyn.roberts@yale.edu
Medicine and slavery in the Atlantic world; race, medicine, and science; history of medicine in Africa and the African diapsora; health and protest in African American history; non-Western medicine and global health
Naomi Rogers
Professor of the History of Medicine and History
naomi.rogers@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4341
History of 20th century medicine & public health in North America including policy, activism, alternative medicine & gender and medicine; Science & feminism; Feminist health movements
John Harley Warner
Avalon Professor of the History of Medicine; Professor of History and of American Studies; Chair of the Section of the History of Medicine (School of Medicine)
john.warner@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4338
19th & 20th century US medicine and health; Comparative history of medicine (US, Britain, France); Cultural history of science & medicine