Affiliates & Emeritus

Research Areas
Toby Appel's picture Toby Appel
Research Affiliate, Section of the History of Medicine
toby.appel@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4354
Alexi Baker's picture Alexi Baker, Ph.D.
Collections Manager, HSI
alexi.baker@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 737-3084
History of science and technology; Early modern history (HST, socioeconomic, cultural); Material and visual culture; Digital humanities; Historical geography; Museum studies
Marisa Bass's picture Marisa Bass
Assistant Professor
marisa.bass@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-2666
Randi Epstein's picture Randi Epstein
Lect English
randi.epstein@yale.edu
History of endocrinology; history of public health
Dimitri Gutas's picture Dimitri Gutas
Professor of Arabic and Graeco-Arabic
dimitri.gutas@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2947
Ann Hanson's picture Ann Hanson
Senior Research Scholar, Classics
ann.hanson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-772-1719
Papyrology; Greek medicine
Lijing Jiang's picture Lijing Jiang
Henry Luce/ACLS Postdoctoral Fellow
lijing.jiang@yale.edu
History of the life sciences and biotechnology; China and Asia; environmental history
Daniel Kevles's picture Daniel Kevles
Stanley Woodward Professor Emeritus of History and History of Medicine; Senior Research Scholar, Yale Law School
daniel.kevles@yale.edu
Politics, government, science, technology & national security; Eugenics; Genetics; Biotechnology; Intellectual property; Plant & animal breeding
Betty Ann Kevles's picture Betty Ann Kevles
Affiliate
bettyann.kevles@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 785-4695
History of science & technology; Intersection of art & science
Jennifer Klein's picture Jennifer Klein
Professor of History
jennifer.klein@yale.edu
Phone: 432-1391
20th century US history; Urban history; Labor history; New Deal & post WWII politics & policy
Stephen Latham's picture Stephen Latham
Senior Research Scholar
stephen.latham@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-7349
J. Michael McBride's picture J. Michael McBride
Richard M. Colgate Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
michael.mcbride@yale.edu
Lisa Messeri's picture Lisa Messeri
Assistant Professor
lisa.messeri@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-3682
Joanne Meyerowitz's picture Joanne Meyerowitz
Arthur Unobskey Professor of History & American Studies; Chair, American Studies
joanne.meyerowitz@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1713, 203-432-1188 (Chair's office)
20th century social, cultural, & intellectual history; Gender & sexuality
Amy Meyers's picture Amy Meyers
Director, Yale Center for British Art
amy.meyers@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2822
Alan Mikhail's picture Alan Mikhail
Professor of History
alan.mikhail@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1353
Middle East, Early Modern Muslim World, Ottoman Empire, Egypt, Environmental History, Early Modern History, History of Medicine
Jennifer Raab's picture Jennifer Raab
Assistant Professor in the History of Art
jennifer.raab@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-2681
Paul Sabin's picture Paul Sabin
Associate Professor of History; DUS, Environmental Studies and American Studies
paul.sabin@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-2516
Environmental studies
Jason Schwartz's picture Jason Schwartz
Assistant Professor of Public Health (Health Policy) and in the History of Medicine
jason.l.schwartz@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 785-6663
History of U.S. health policy and public health; vaccination; pharmaceuticals; CDC, FDA, and other government health agencies; scientific expert advice to government
Gordon Shepherd's picture Gordon Shepherd
Professor of Neurobiology
gordon.shepherd@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4336
Frank Snowden's picture Frank Snowden
Andrew Downey Orrick Professor of History; Professor of History and Medicine
frank.snowden@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0507
Social, cultural, and intellectual history of medicine: the societal impact of infectious diseases; modern European social and political history
William Summers's picture William Summers
Professor Emeritus of Therapeutic Radiology, Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, and History of Medicine; Lecturer in History
william.summers@yale.edu
History of modern biology; geopolitics of disease; Asian science and medicine
Rebecca Tannenbaum's picture Rebecca Tannenbaum
Senior Lecturer, History; Yale NUS Fellow in International Affairs
rebecca.tannenbaum@yale.edu
Early America; Social history of American medicine; Women's history