Affiliates & Emeritus

Research Areas
Toby Appel
Research Affiliate, Section of the History of Medicine
toby.appel@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4354
Randi Epstein
Lect English
randi.epstein@yale.edu
History of endocrinology; history of public health
Dimitri Gutas
Professor of Arabic and Graeco-Arabic
dimitri.gutas@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2947
Ann Hanson
Senior Research Scholar, Classics
ann.hanson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-772-1719
Papyrology; Greek medicine
Lijing Jiang
Henry Luce/ACLS Postdoctoral Fellow
lijing.jiang@yale.edu
History of the life sciences and biotechnology; China and Asia; environmental history
Daniel Kevles
Stanley Woodward Professor Emeritus of History and History of Medicine; Senior Research Scholar, Yale Law School
daniel.kevles@yale.edu
Politics, government, science, technology & national security; Eugenics; Genetics; Biotechnology; Intellectual property; Plant & animal breeding
Betty Ann Kevles
Affiliate
bettyann.kevles@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 785-4695
History of science & technology; Intersection of art & science
Jennifer Klein
Professor of History
jennifer.klein@yale.edu
Phone: 432-1391
20th century US history; Urban history; Labor history; New Deal & post WWII politics & policy
J. Michael McBride
Richard M. Colgate Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
michael.mcbride@yale.edu
Joanne Meyerowitz
Arthur Unobskey Professor of History & American Studies; Chair, American Studies
joanne.meyerowitz@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1713, 203-432-1188 (Chair's office)
20th century social, cultural, & intellectual history; Gender & sexuality
Amy Meyers
Director, Yale Center for British Art
amy.meyers@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2822
Alan Mikhail
Professor of History
alan.mikhail@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1353
Middle East, Early Modern Muslim World, Ottoman Empire, Egypt, Environmental History, Early Modern History, History of Medicine
Paul Sabin
Associate Professor of History; DUS, Environmental Studies and American Studies
paul.sabin@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-2516
Environmental studies
Gordon Shepherd
Professor of Neurobiology
gordon.shepherd@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4336
Frank Snowden
Andrew Downey Orrick Professor of History; Professor of History and Medicine
frank.snowden@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0507
Social, cultural, and intellectual history of medicine: the societal impact of infectious diseases; modern European social and political history
William Summers
Professor Emeritus of Therapeutic Radiology, Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, and History of Medicine; Lecturer in History
william.summers@yale.edu
History of modern biology; geopolitics of disease; Asian science and medicine
Rebecca Tannenbaum
Senior Lecturer, History; Yale NUS Fellow in International Affairs
rebecca.tannenbaum@yale.edu
Early America; Social history of American medicine; Women's history